tzdata

Переход на зимнее время октябрь 2014 в Debian 6

В репах дебиана не оказался самый свежий tzdata, а был только 2014e-0squeeze1
поэтому я скачал не посредственно с их сайта и установил

# wget ftp.ru.debian.org/debian/pool/main/t/tzdata/tzdata_2014i-1_all.deb
 
# dpkg -i tzdata_2014i-1_all.deb
 
# zdump -v /etc/localtime  | grep 2014
/etc/localtime  Sat Oct 25 21:59:59 2014 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:59:59 2014 MSK isdst=0 gmtoff=14400
/etc/localtime  Sat Oct 25 22:00:00 2014 UTC = Sun Oct 26 01:00:00 2014 MSK isdst=0 gmtoff=10800
 
rm tzdata_2014i-1_all.deb 

Обновление информации о временных зонах в ручную

Для устарелых систем можно воспользоваться:

The compiled zoneinfo file appears to be platform and architecture independent, so if you have multiple machines to update you should be able to move the file as-is without running zic again. Similarly, you can just to pull updated zoneinfo files from a machine running a different Debian release, or even download the latest tzdata package from unstable, extract the zoneinfo files from within the .deb file, and install them into the /usr/share/zoneinfo directory tree.